Newspaper nails

28 Aug

I saw this on Perri Lewis‘s fabulous craft blog and had to give it a try. The instructions actually come from Top Shop’s Inside Out blog
but I’ve seen it on other sites too. Top Shop recommend using surgical spirit which I used and worked a treat. I’ve seen other sites suggest rubbing alcohol or vodka. I haven’t tried them but have seen people comment that it doesn’t work as well.

Here’s what I did. Using the free grey nail polish from this month’s Elle magazine (I love their email newsletter and website by the way) I painted my nails as usual and waited for them to dry.

Then I cut out small pieces of newspaper text and poured surgical spirit into the cap of the bottle. I carefully dipped one nail at a time into the spirit and pressed a piece of newspaper onto the nail, holding it for a few seconds before peeling off, a bit like applying a temporary tattoo.  Add a top coat to seal it and voila!


I also tried transferring pictures but it wasn’t very successful. Of the four judges from X-Factor only Louis Walsh came out well!

PS My boyfriend told me I’m ‘too old’ for these nails but what does he know?!

2 Responses to “Newspaper nails”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Valentines Day Party for Single Girls « - 12/02/2012

    […] Gather a pamper pack together including a face pack (you could make your own using the recipe in Queen of Crafts), a hair mask, some new nail varnish and a nice scented candle. I love the ones from Neom which have aromatherapy qualities. For some nail art inspiration have a look at my previous posts Marbled Nails and Newspaper Nails. […]

  2. Newspaper Nail Art Just Became Ungodly Simple | Rad Nails | te% - 27/04/2012

    […] Photo: Via Sephora/Shoestring Splendor’s blog […]

Leave a Reply

