Wedding dresses on the high street

9 Sep

I had a small, wedding-related, breakdown recently. Our wedding budget is under the nati0nal average, but it is still going to be a pretty pricey affair.

So the idea of spending £1850 to buy a wedding dress that is beautiful, but which I will only wear once, seems a bit of a waste of budget.That money could buy better food or more booze (or just not be spent at all!).

That is not everyone’s opinion, and I know for people who have been planning their wedding for a long time, it is a reasonable price to pay, but I haven’t been planning my wedding since I was 10, and to be honest, I’m just not that fussed about the dress. I want something that makes me look beautiful, but I don’t want to feel sick when I pay for it.

So I’ve been looking into some alternatives.

1. Monsoon

These dresses look lovely and generally I have had only good feedback about them. There is a small, but varied range of dresses, all under around £300 (with most under £200). My favourites (which I’m planning to try on soon!) are:


Monsoon, £180 – very Grecian


Monsoon, £225 – I love this dress – so simple but beautiful

2. Asos

If you are not looking for a long, traditional dress, then places like ASOS can be fantastic. You can search by colour (in this case I selected white and cream) and then there are a range of beautiful (often knee length or shorter) dresses. At the time of writing, the dresses that caught my eye were:


A/Wear £45 – I love this dress! I’m not sure about the belt, but that would be easily changed.


Mango, £54.90 – Mango clothing never fits me for some reason, but if you don’t have that issue, this is a gorgeous lacy number.


Asos, £35 – I love this dress because you could really add your own detailing to it.

3. Coast


Coast, £135 (also available through ASOS) – this dress reminds me of a lovely beach wedding – it makes me think of sunset and cool sea breeze

4. House of Fraser

There are also lots of options at House of Fraser for under £300. Two of my favourites are:

Linea, £145 – this has a lovely vintage feel to it


JS Collections, £250 – a lovely, and quite different, neckline

5. eBay

Now, I haven’t tried eBay out myself but a search for ‘wedding dress’ brings up a huge number of really beautiful, brand new dresses in a huge variety of styles.

I have read a lot of good recommendations from people online who ordered their dresses via some of the Chinese or Thai suppliers on the site (you choose the style, send your measurements and any adjustments you want to make, and they send you a bespoke made-to-measure dress), but I have also read some nightmare stories. Which versions are true, it’s hard to say. I suppose it depends on your level of communication with the supplier and what level of quality you are expecting.

Have you tried any of the eBay wedding dress suppliers? If you have, let us know what your experience was like in the comments.

What are your recommendations for great wedding dresses under £300? Let us know in the comments!

4 Responses to “Wedding dresses on the high street”

  1. Kelly Ellis 09/09/2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Can you please tell me what you find out? There are some stunning ones here!

    • Katie 09/09/2011 at 12:52 pm #

      Definitely – I think I’ll probably do an update on this in a few months’ time.

  2. Kasi 09/09/2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Very hard to decide but of the long ones I like the Monsoon Grecian one and for the knee length I like the Linea.

    Very exciting though! x

  3. Hannah 18/09/2011 at 9:10 am #

    My friend got married yesterday in the most beautiful dress from Phase Eight, they are around £250 – £375. But, even better, she looked for the one she liked on ebay and got it for about £150!
    http://www.phase-eight.co.uk/fcp/categorylist/garment/wedding?resetFilters=true

Leave a Reply

