Book Review – Queen of Crafts

11 Sep


Queen of Crafts is an odd book. I don’t really understand the jacket and the inside layout is far too busy and crowded. It covers so many areas that I’m not really sure what sort of book it wants to be. All in all it’s hard to get a handle on and reading it is a rather frustrating experience. But if you can manage to get past that you will find it’s packed full of projects from knitting to baking to DIY beauty, kitchen gardening, easy sewing, complicated sewing and upcycling and so there’s something for everyone. It’s also pretty technical in places so if you have patience to study you will really learn how to do things properly.

There are loads of projects I want to try – making my own bath bombs (a great idea for gifts), trying my hand at patchwork,  tye-dying flowers(!). There are also loads that I already know how to do and some that I have no interest in whatsoever. It’s supposed to be a craft book so why is there baking and gardening in it?! Anyway, I’ll give the things that have caught my eye a go and report back.

Thanks to Penguin for sending us a copy to review.

One Response to “Book Review – Queen of Crafts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make Your Own Herb Tea « - 24/09/2011

    […] A friend bought me a present of a Lemon Verbena plant a while ago and mentioned that it made nice tea but I forgot about it until I read the page on tea in Queen of Crafts. […]

Leave a Reply

