Furniture Upcycling part 2 – bedroom chest of drawers

3 Oct

I’d had a set of solid wood pine drawers since I was a child but they look a bit old fashioned now and don’t fit with my current bedroom scheme. To give you an idea of how they looked originally these drawers are very similar.

After removing the handles I sanded my drawers all over with a course grade of sandpaper to remove the varnish, then rubbed them with a finer grade to smooth out the surface and wiped it clean with a damp cloth. Because I was then working on bare wood I applied a coat of primer and then two coats of paint, letting each coat dry fully before applying the next. Be careful with drips.

I chose some cut glass style drawer handles from a DIY shop and fitted them on each drawer.

I could have left it here but decided to add some stencilled butterflies taking inspiration from a recent trip to the Natural History Museum butterfly room.

To do this choose a stencil, I got mine from Homebase, secure with some masking tape then stipple with a stencil brush in the colours of your choice. I used acrylic paints because I had some in the cupboard but you can buy stencil paint from the DIY shop. This is still a work in progress as I’d like to add some plants and flowers at some point.

Leave a Reply

