Vintage Magazines

21 Oct

Last weekend, at The Vintage Event in Balham, I came away with three vintage magazines (from the Hostess Hotties). Two issues of My Home and the inaugural first ever issue of Woman’s Illustrated (from 1936!). I bought them just out of curiosity, but also perhaps to get some inspiration.

And they were SO interesting! The Woman’s Illustrated was a particular favourite. The front cover features Princess Elizabeth (ie: the now about to have her jubilee celebration Queen) and inside is full of interesting articles, including one about how a woman and her husband had divorced because no one had ever explained ‘what love really meant’ (ie: sex) and that she had never been able to get over the shock of it.

There were also dress plans (for people who clearly knew what they were doing, unlike me, because they were just very small illustrations that you were supposed to know how to scale up to fit yourself), short stories, agony aunts, and lots of fascinating adverts.

The two My Home issues in particular were interesting for adverts – they are both from 1949, so rationing is still in place and lots of the advertising relates to how to use rationing effectively or how a particular product is BACK after being temporarily stalled during the war.I also loved this gas ad:

And this from the Ministry of Food:

Anyway, all in all, browsing these was a lovely way to spend a Saturday afternoon. I would like to use them in some kind of craft project soon, but I’m not sure I could bear to cut them up!

2 Responses to “Vintage Magazines”

  1. melinda 04/06/2012 at 9:39 pm #

    I am very curious to know if you decided to use them in a craft, as I stumbled upon a 1930’s magazine, The Farmers Wife, so fabulous!!! There were a lot of the same ads as the ones you show above and I am trying to decide how to display the magazine or if I want to use in a decoupage of some sort…..inspiration??

    • Katie 04/06/2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Hi Melinda, I haven’t used them yet. I really want to but I also don’t want to cut them up!!! Please let me know if you use yours, I’d love to see how you use them! X

Leave a Reply

