Shoestring Splendour Swap Party

30 Oct

Thanks to everyone who came along to yesterday’s Shoestring Splendour swap party. There were some amazing clothes on offer, each with it’s own story.

A few went along the lines of “I bought this dress/shirt/pair of jeans because I thought it looked good in the changing room, but it’s never suited me and I’ve only worn it once or twice”, some had literally never been worn (there were quite a few things with the tags still on!), and some were well loved, but just not getting worn as often any more (as Hannah said of one of the dresses she brought ‘I have too many photographs of me in this dress, I think it’s time to move on’).

This was one of my favourite pieces that came to the day. Everyone tried it on, but then Hannah tried it on and it was like it had found its home!

I managed to get a huge haul of stuff – three skirts, a dress, two cardigans, two t-shirts and more. Far more than I expected!

One of the skirts I picked up

It genuinely feels as though I have a whole new wardrobe.

Louise of the Cherry Blossom Cakery brought along some amazing cakes for us to have with our cups of tea, and Hannah and I had some cards for sale too.

Other than that, people who brought clothes were free to rummage, try things on, pick stuff up and take it home. What a great day!

A lot of people who came asked if we were planning on doing these regularly. The good news is that we are definitely going to be doing another swap, probably in January, so watch this space!

4 Responses to “Shoestring Splendour Swap Party”

  1. Jennifer 30/10/2011 at 7:14 pm #

    This looks so much fun! Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

    • Katie 30/10/2011 at 8:35 pm #

      It was great! If you are in London, make sure you come to the next one!

  2. redplace 31/10/2011 at 7:39 am #

    This looks brilliant! I love functions/parties like this, there should be more of them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shoestring Swap Shop « - 18/01/2012

    […] as a further enticement, here’s a reminder of my bounty from our last event… Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

