Growing spring onions

7 Nov

I saw this post on Pinterest about growing spring onions – apparently if you place the ends, with roots, in a small glass of water, the greens will continue to shoot out, giving you a perpetual source of spring onion.

I have to say, I was not really convinced, but thought it was a cool idea. I popped the ends of some onions into some water and one week later – ta da!

There is around 2-3 inches of regrowth on each of them already! This week I have had to buy some new spring onions for cooking, but next week I reckon there will already be enough for me to use.

I know that spring onions aren’t the most expensive item in anyone’s shopping basket, but so often I buy them, use one, and then the rest of the pack gets binned. This should not only save money, but also stop that pang of guilt every time I throw 5-6 unused ones in the bin. So clever!

3 Responses to “Growing spring onions”

  1. theincurablelibertine 11/11/2011 at 6:31 am #

    oh you saw this too? mine have been in there for about 2-3 days now, i’m hoping they will look as promising as yours!!

    • Katie 11/11/2011 at 10:35 am #

      mine are huge now! maybe I’ll take a photo at the weekend and update the post because they are looking incredibly edible now…

  2. Patty Van Luppen 26/03/2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I can’t wait to give this a try! I grow my own herbs, tomatoes, & peppers. What a fresh salad this will be!

Leave a Reply

