Book review: Bust DIY Guide to Life

8 Nov

When I was a teen, I used to love Bust magazine. It was fun, different, totally unconcerned about make-up and celebrity gossip and prom, like the other teen magazines seemed to be. When I left high school, I kind of lost touch with the magazine, and since I’ve been in the UK I haven’t really seen it. Until recently, when a blog I follow pointed out that they had just published a book! All about craft & DIY! How exciting. I ordered a copy straight away.

This is SUCH a fun book. The projects range very far and wide. From sewing a simple skirt to creating bookshelves out of vintage books and making a spice cabinet from an old suitcase, from making a tank top & pair of pants from old band t-shirts to making your own sex toys, from hanging a picture to updating your creative resume – there is a huge amount covered in this tome.

It is clear that a lot of love has gone into making this book. The tone is light and fun, but the projects all seem practical, doable and, most importantly and missing from a lot of recent craft books, there are a lot of projects that I would actually like to make. The advice on how to be creative while you keep your 9-5 was quite inspiring and as soon as I finished going through it, I wanted to read the whole thing again.

A really lovely book!

Have you got it? Have you tried any of the projects yet? Let us know in the comments.

Buy the Bust DIY Guide to Life here

3 Responses to “Book review: Bust DIY Guide to Life”

  1. Eefje 08/11/2011 at 9:59 am #

    Wow, from your post this seems like such a lovely book! Are the instructions for the projects clear and understandable if you’ve never done somethings similar before? I’ve never sewn clothing so I hope I’d be able to understand the instructions in the sew your own skirt DIY.

    I have to say I love the lay-out of the pages you’ve photographed, that alone would be a good reason to get myself this book. 🙂

    • Katie 08/11/2011 at 10:05 am #

      I think the projects look clear, but I haven’t made any of them myself. The skirt, for example (I have also never made my own skirt before) looks really straightforward. It does explain how a sewing machine works, but as each sewing machine is different, what it can’t do is show you how to do the actual sewing (which is where I normally come into trouble!). I’ll let you know how any projects I do work out!

      • Eefje 09/11/2011 at 10:49 am #

        That would be cool, I’d love to see your results!

Leave a Reply

