Top Tip: Removing gluey residue from glass bottles

3 Dec

One of the problems I have found with the various glass bottle projects I have wanted to try (or have tried, like these champagne lights) is that the paper on the bottles can be incredibly difficult to remove. The label itself is usually easy enough – soak the bottle in some warm soapy water and it comes away, but often this leaves a sticky, gluey residue.

I did a quick search online and found this video on About.com. It recommends that for hard to remove gunk, you should use peanut butter. I’ve heard of peanut butter getting gum out of hair before, but this was a new use for it for me! Apparently the oil in the butter breaks down the glue and makes it easy to remove. It sounded fairly unlikely but, I have to say, it worked a treat! How about that? You learn something new every day…

Before

During

After!

One Response to “Top Tip: Removing gluey residue from glass bottles”

  1. creatingplans 03/12/2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Great tip! I engrave old jars to use as tea-light lamps and I’m always stuck with the gluey stuff. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

