Making a cake stand

8 Feb

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a large china collection that I hire out for tea parties. My hire sets include a tea cup, saucer and side plate per person and one teapot, sugar bowl, milk jug and cake stand between six. I don’t have enough cake stands but I do have some large cake plates and some spare smaller plates. So I found that you can get the pieces to make your own and bought a set from The Cake Stand store on eBay. (They are closed at the moment until 15th Feb)

There’s a lot of careful measuring and extremely careful drilling. I practiced on a plate that I was throwing away and discovered the most difficult thing is starting the hole and making sure you are central on the plate. The instructions explain how to do it by putting masking tape over the plate where you’re going to drill to stop it chipping, as you would with wall tiles in a kitchen or bathroom. On top of that there’s no tips I can give you for this except if you don’t have a steady hand and nerve then don’t try it!

Choosing which plates look best together is the most fun part and I have sorted out five sets to put together. If you haven’t got the time or steady hand to make one but would be interested in buying one drop me a line at milliewilkinschina@gmail.com and I can tell you what I have available or I can source to your colour/pattern requirements.

Leave a Reply

