Decorating With Your Own Art

5 Mar

I rent my flat and so have little control over the decor. However I have tried to make it as personal as I can by using my own soft furnishings and furniture etc.

In a previous flat I was allowed to paint my room and chose a strong pink for two of the walls. When I moved I had a little paint left over so I made this painting from a canvas that had been thrown out on the street. I mixed some of it with a bit of white acrylic. It’s loosely my version of a Rothko and was very easy to do with a 1 1/2″ DIY paintbrush.

With my pink curtains, a throw on the bed and other details here and there to pick out the colour I think the painting really brings the room together and makes it feel my own.

If you’re looking for a canvas, which can be expensive, another place I picked up a couple was in the sale at a big DIY store. The paintings on them weren’t to my taste so I painted over them with white emulsion and started again. Of course if you’re handy with a saw, hammer and nails you can buy some 2 x 1″ wood and a piece of calico fabric and make your own frame, stretching the calico over the frame and securing on the underside with a staple gun.

4 Responses to “Decorating With Your Own Art”

  1. Eefje 06/03/2012 at 10:42 am #

    I totally agree that the painting pulls everything together through colour!
    In my city in the Netherlands canvasses aren’t really all that expensive (although I’m sure there’s a quality difference) Several larger stores that have a little art-supplies section sell them. I also got a bunch as a birthday gift. 🙂

    • Hannah 06/03/2012 at 12:21 pm #

      Thanks!
      Lucky you, they seem to be pretty expensive in the UK. Would love to see some of your work. x

  2. Emma @ Sweet Mabel 06/03/2012 at 3:28 pm #

    What a lovely canvas, well done you! I live in rented too and have put up my own artwork, makes the place feel more personal and homely. I get canvases from quality save or wilkinsons, fairly cheap in there but love your idea of painting over one from a DIY store. X

    • Hannah 09/03/2012 at 8:28 am #

      Thank you. There’s a new Wilkinsons just opened near me so I’ll try them. x

Leave a Reply

