EAT: Weekday salads

24 Apr

Every day at work, I try to take my lunch in. It saves a huge amount of money and is often better tasting and healthier than shop-bought food.

This might be leftovers or it might be something created from scratch. Since starting a new job a couple of months ago, which is further from home and starts earlier in the morning, I have found that I don’t have nearly as much time in the morning to sort out my lunch. So I’ve started making these amazing salads on a Sunday night. I made them in a big tub and then every day I scoop some out and add a bit of balsamic dressing or squeezed lemon, as well as whatever additional ingredients I fancy that day (or if I have leftover chicken or what have you from the night before, that goes in too). It’s remarkably tasty, really cheap and FULL of vitamins.

The base ingredients are:

– Two tins of beans, of any variety (I usually like lentils and cannelini, but last week I used cannelini and borlotti beans
– Around 8-10 cherry tomatoes, cut in half
– Whatever herbs we have left in the fridge from the previous weekend’s cooking (there are ALWAYS some of these)
– Pumpkin seeds or pine nuts

Oh it’s so good. Then, I have been known to add spinach, avocado, mackerel, chicken, artichockes, anchovies, cous cous, quinoa, leftover roasted vegetables – anything really! All the beans and seeds are really filling and the flexibility of it is great – it never tastes boring or samey.

What do you have for lunch every day? Do you take your own food in? What do you have? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

