How does your garden grow?

6 Jun

Are you growing any fruits, vegetables or herbs this summer?

Unfortunately we don’t really have any outdoor space in our flat, so we’re a little bit limited as to what we have space to grow. But I love having fresh vegetables and herbs during the summer months, so I always try to go something!

This year I’m growing tomatoes, peppers and basil. They all seem to be doing well – the tomatoes exploded during the few weeks of nice weather we had recently, which I am incredibly excited about. I have never grown so many – usually each plant gives me 10-15 tomatoes if I’m lucky. This year it looks like we might actually have a glut, something I have always read about but never quite experienced for myself!

The basil is just a supermarket plant, but seems to be surviving quite well. I try to cut it back (and eat it!) once every week or so, as it’s been growing really quickly.

And finally the pepper plant. This is the newest purchase – I bought it from Brixton market around two weeks ago. After a couple of days it transpired that it was infested with green fly, but after washing each leaf carefully with soap and warm water, that appears to have gone away.

I did also have an aubergine plant, but it sadly passed away about a week after I bought it – I think the pot I put it in was too small.

The two things I have done this year which appear to be doing wonders are 1) reusing the water when I boil eggs at the weekend – I let it cool down and then water the plants with it – the egg shells act as a natural fertliser! and 2) I have planted a marigold in with the tomatoes – I heard somewhere that this keeps green and black fly at bay and so far, it’s been working a treat!

Do you have any tips for growing veg indoors?

6 Responses to “How does your garden grow?”

  1. Gloria 06/06/2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I have a black thumb, so I’m always jealous of people who can grow their own veggies!

  2. skandivis 07/06/2012 at 2:55 pm #

    My garden is sadly not doing very well this year! The bad weather combined with my lack of skill has just about done it for me! Very envious of your skills 🙂 Toni (Byw)

    • Katie 07/06/2012 at 4:52 pm #

      I don’t know how we’ve managed the tomatoes – my mum bought a plant at the same time as us and it hasn’t grown at all! I feel very lucky.

  3. Eeli-Ethel Polli 07/06/2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I have lots of different herbs, salads, garlic, rucola, onion, strawberries a.s.o. No tomatoes, because they need greenhouse in Denmark. I have plans to have my own greenhouse, but it needs to be build, so I can not wait when I will have my own tomatoes :). Eeli (Byw 2.0 fellow)

    • Katie 07/06/2012 at 8:45 pm #

      It sounds like you have loads of great things growing though! I would love to try strawberries one year, but I think you might need a bit more room…

  4. geraldine 08/06/2012 at 12:11 am #

    Lovely images of your plants. We are attempting to grow carrots, herbs and strawberries in an area of raised bed in our very small garden. Seems to be going okay except for the occasional nibble from my daughter’s cheeky rabbit.

Leave a Reply

